Washington Minimum Wage Increase Hike January 1stby Victoria Bartow | January 11, 2017
On election night Washington voters approved Initiative 1433, which incrementally increases the state’s current minimum wage of $9.47 to $13.50 by 2020. The first hike to $11 per hour is set to occur on January 1, 2017. In addition, the rule requires every employer to provide sick leave starting 2018 as follows: one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, accrual begins day one of employment. Employees can begin using paid sick leave on the 9th calendar day of employment and 40 hours can be carried over. Employers do NOT have to pay out sick leave upon termination. Note that the regulations have not yet been announced and that Labor and Industries will implement and enforce the law and rules to follow. Also, remember that several cities have adopted local laws that require a higher minimum wage. In this case the employer must pay the higher wage.